Tasting Tuesdays: Brownie Crumble

Tasting Tuesdays: Brownie Crumble

Whoo! It’s been a while!

Tasting Tuesdays: Brownie Crumble

I was out of town for my birthday… eating my way through Toronto. As I do when I travel.

Tasting Tuesdays: Brownie Crumble

But I’m coming back… with brownies. (And cake–two cakes! But that’s for another post.)

Tasting Tuesdays: Brownie Crumble

Let’s talk about these brownies. I was so furious at the Miette cookbook when I went to cut these brownies the next day and found that they went completely to crumbles the minute you put your knife in them.

Tasting Tuesdays: Brownie Crumble

But then I typed up the recipe for this blog post… and realized that it advised you to cut them while still warm, only about 20 minutes. Well, guess I learned my lesson!

Tasting Tuesdays: Brownie Crumble

Luckily, you can make a pan of messed-up brownies into adorable brownie crumble by popping them into “nut party cups” that you have lying in your cupcake liner shelf. (What–you don’t have a cupcake liner shelf?)

Tasting Tuesdays: Brownie Crumble

And, whether you read the directions properly or not, these brownies have a deep, rich chocolate flavor. I’m sure it’s probably due to the fact that there are four bars of melted 70% cacao chocolate in there, but still–it’s so good. (That dash of espresso powder just adds that extra oomph to chocolate desserts, no!?)

Tasting Tuesdays: Brownie Crumble Tasting Tuesdays: Brownie Crumble

Really, this recipe is par for the course with the Miette cookbook: all their recipes turn out lovely flavors, but the directions drive me crazy and often produce not-quite-right treats. Imperfect, fussy recipes… pretty incredible flavors. Worth the fuss? I still can’t decide! It’s just a good thing this book is so darn pretty.

Tasting Tuesdays: Brownie Crumble

As always, a huge thank you to the lovely ladies at Anthropologie Milwaukee! It was great to hang out with you (and be tempted by the brand-new stock and displays!). Also, did you see there’s a new table in the dressing room!? It’s blue. And so cute. The food styling geek in me is pretty excited for a new string of photo shoots!

Continue reading