Cream Scones

I’m in baking redux mode.

Cream Scones

Last time, my favorite molasses cookies — this week, my favorite scone recipe.

Cream Scones

Not much to say here. It’s a gray, cold, rainy day in Milwaukee–perfect for Netflix (I’m rewatching Sherlock at the moment, in case you’re curious), coffee, tidying your apartment, and of course, baking!

Cream Scones

(And also seeing the new Hunger Games movie. What can I say, you can’t stay inside ALL day.)

Cream Scones

These scones are tried-and-true. Unless you’re a purist like me, you can add countless toppings or flavors to this recipe (nuts, dried fruit, extracts, spices…). I often make them with pearl sugar on top for texture, but this time I made a quick icing. It does need something sweet on top.

Cream Scones

Butter is an essential part of a good scone recipe, so splurge on the good European stuff–I like Kerrygold. It’s a bit more malleable, which means you can knead it into the batter easily without overworking it. You want chunks of butter in your scone dough, so that when they bake, the bits of butter melt and leave it flaky and light.

Cream Scones

Continue reading

